PM Earth

The Project Management Institute Course

30 August 2007

The Project Management Institute Course Certifications

The PMI is a global organization based in the United States of America that offers these standards: 

  • The PMBOK®. The PMBOK® is the guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge for Project Managers. It defines over 40 processes broken into four groups and nine knowledge areas. Each of these processes is a standard for an effective component of the project management life cycle, and some are best practices. The PMBOK® is a framework for project management that any organization can adapt into a project management methodology. The PMI offers a certification in understanding of the PMBOK® and ability to apply it to projects called the Project Management Professional (PMP) certification. More information is available at
  • A Program Management Standard
  • A Portfolio Management Standard
  • OPM3, the Organizational Project Management Maturity Model. OPM3 is an over-arching model that an organization can follow to assess and improve its overall maturity, that is, its consistent capability to achieve successful project, program, and portfolio results that benefit an organization and help it achieve strategic objectives.
  • The Combined Standards Glossary, which  provides a single glossary of terms for project, program, and portfolio management. MPOM® includes this glossary, and uses these terms or common synonyms throughout. The cross-reference table links synonyms in MPOM to the PMI's Combined Standards Glossary.

The PMBOK® been accepted by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), and are therefore recognized as having government approval in the United States of America.


Copyright © Method123 Ltd 2000-2018